📚 Book Lovin' Geek Mamas are on a mission to promote a love of books and reading to everyone. We help our visitors to find their next favorite book. Our authors regularly create and post so-called listicles (also known as booklists) on various mostly tech-related topics.

Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook You

Below I’ll give you my selections for the best War Fiction books by a few categories. I will cover these and other great books more in depth later.

The House on Tenafly Road (The Tenafly Road Series) (Volume 1) (2013)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouHeartbreaking and inspiring Civil War saga (Historical Novel Society Editor’s Choice). When morphine-addicted veteran John Weldon falls in love with his best friend’s sister on the eve of Reconstruction and the Indian Wars, life gets complicated. How will Weldon hide his addiction from the family he resents and admires, keep his standing in the army and find the strength to endure life’s tragedies?
Author(s): Adrienne Morris

War of the Fae (Book 1, The Changelings) (Volume 1) (2012)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouJayne Sparks, a potty-mouthed, rebellious seventeen-year-old and her best friend, shy and bookish Tony Green, have a pretty typical high school existence, until several seemingly unrelated incidents converge, causing a cascade of events that change their lives forever. Jayne and Tony, together with a group of runaway teens, are hijacked and sent into a forest, where nothing and no one are as they seem. Who will emerge triumphant? And what will they be when they do?
Author(s): Elle Casey

The Promise: A World War 2 Historical Romance Novel (2019)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouHow far would you go to keep a promise? In the heat of battle, one man’s promise to another will be tested. – As Britain is gripped by the fear and uncertainty of war, Tom Armitage stands to gain the one thing that he never thought possible – his freedom.Rosie Elliot sees her future crumbling to dust as Will Aarons leaves Whitby with Jimmy Chappell to fight in the war. As she begins work at The Turnstone Convalescent Home, Rosie finds something she thought she had lost. Friendship.
Author(s): Kathleen Harryman, Lucy Marshall

The Last War: Book 1 of The Last War Series (2017)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouEarth is under attack.20 years after the American-Chinese war devastated our worlds, we finally have a tense peace. But legendary American Admiral Jack Mattis, on his inspection tour of the first joint American-Chinese space station, finds himself in the middle of the unthinkable: an alien invasion.Their ships are powerful, their weapons overwhelming.
Author(s): Peter Bostrom , Nick Webb , et al.

The Truth in Our Lies (2019)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouAnna Hall was a beautiful and skilled Second World War air force operative, guiding RAF pilots during the Battle of Britain—before a bomb killed her sister and left her disfigured.
Author(s): Eliza Graham

Valley of the Purple Hearts (The Vietnam War Series) (Volume 3) (2017)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouThe Vietnam experience, up close and personal. When eighteen-year-old Buck Marino first meets Rolley Zwyrkowski, he little realizes how much the young sergeant and their next year together in Vietnam will change his life forever.
Author(s): Rick DeStefanis

Of Windmills and War (2012)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouThe rumblings of war in distant countries mattered little to Danny McClain. Growing up in Chicago, his world revolved around after-school jobs, a rescued beagle, his pen pal in Holland, and the Cubs’ chance to go to the World Series. Then, in December of 1941, during his first year at Northwestern University, news of the attack on Pearl Harbor hit much too close to home.
Author(s): Diane H Moody

An Orphan’s War (2018)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouWar rages, but the women and children of Liverpool’s Dr Barnardo’s Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan’s War is a gripping saga about love and loss on the Home Front.LIVERPOOL, 1940When her childhood sweetheart Johnny is killed in action, Maxine Grey loses more than her husband – she loses her best friend.
Author(s): Molly Green

The War Planners Series: Books 1-3: The War Planners, The War Stage, and Pawns of the Pacific (2017)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouFrom former US Navy pilot Andrew Watts comes a series made for fans of Tom Clancy and Vince Flynn. Now a USA Today Bestseller.”As a huge fan of Tom Clancy, this was close.””Frighteningly real.”From a secretive jungle-covered island in the Pacific, to the sands of the Middle East. From the smog-filled alleyways of China, to the passageways of a US Navy destroyer.
Author(s): Andrew Watts

The Deepest Waters (2018)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouFor John and Laura Foster, what began as a fairytale honeymoon in 1857 aboard the steamship SS Vandervere, quickly turns into a nightmare. A terrible hurricane strikes and the grand ship begins to sink. Just before it goes under, a rescue ship appears on the horizon. But it only has room enough to save the women and children. Laura soon finds herself sailing away toward New York city on a ship filled with orphans and widows, to meet John’s family whom she’s never met.
Author(s): Dan Walsh

From the Ashes of War: The War Trilogy – Book Three (2018)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouIn the third book in Diane Moody’s bestselling WWII trilogy, Dutch war bride Anya Versteeg McClain is struggling to adapt to her new life in America. Her husband Danny, a former B-17 pilot, is troubled by her rollercoaster moods, but vows to do whatever he can to make her happy. Little did he know that would mean letting her go again. When an unexpected telegram requires her return to Holland, she leaves with a conflicted heart. Danny can only hope and pray she’ll come back to him.
Author(s): Diane Moody

Going Home: A Novel of the Civil War (2015)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouBrought to the New World from Ireland, young Joseph Forsyth is soon betrayed by his alcoholic father and separated from his beloved family. As he grows older, he finds his kind nature exploited by others—including an alluring young woman named Lucy—until he gets swept away by the conflict that divides a nation.After the bloody siege of Petersburg, Joseph floats in and out of consciousness at a Union army hospital.
Author(s): James D. Shipman

The Heroes of Sainte-Mère-Église: A D-Day Novel (2019)

 Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook YouOn May 10, 1940, SS Sturmbannführer Gunther Dettmer stands on the border of Germany and France. He waits with the German war machine for the order from Adolf Hitler to start the western Blitzkrieg—the “lightning war.” Six hundred kilometers away, WWI veteran René Legrand plows his fields. He is enjoying the life he has made with his wife and two sons in the peaceful village of Sainte-Mère-Église. Since the end of the last war, he has tried to forget the atrocities he’d witnessed.
Author(s): J.D. Keene

Best War Fiction Books That Will Hook You

We highly recommend you to buy all paper or e-books in a legal way, for example, on Amazon. But sometimes it might be a need to dig deeper beyond the shiny book cover. Before making a purchase, you can visit resources like Library Genesis and download some war fiction books mentioned below at your own risk. Once again, we do not host any illegal or copyrighted files, but simply give our visitors a choice and hope they will make a wise decision.

ALREADY IN FICTION Star Wars: Light of the Jedi

Author(s): Charles Soule
ID: 2892087, Publisher: Random House Publishing Group, Year: 2021, Size: 2 Mb, Format: epub

Trauma and Fictions of the “War on Terror” : Disrupting Memory

Author(s): Sarah O’Brien
ID: 2990274, Publisher: Routledge, Year: 2021, Size: 4 Mb, Format: pdf

World War II in Contemporary German and Dutch Fiction: The Generation of Meta-Memory

Author(s): Jan Lensen
ID: 3005687, Publisher: Routledge, Year: 2021, Size: 6 Mb, Format: pdf

Please note that this booklist is not definite. Some books are absolutely record-breakers according to Los Angeles Times, others are composed by unknown writers. On top of that, you can always find additional tutorials and courses on Coursera, Udemy or edX, for example. Are there any other relevant resources you could recommend? Leave a comment if you have any feedback on the list.

Rate article
Add a comment

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: