📚 Book Lovin' Geek Mamas are on a mission to promote a love of books and reading to everyone. We help our visitors to find their next favorite book. Our authors regularly create and post so-called listicles (also known as booklists) on various mostly tech-related topics.

Best Urban Planning Books That You Need

There are countless Urban Planning courses, tutorials, articles available online, but for some, having a book is still a necessity to learn. This is an up-to-date list of recommended books.

Planning and Urban Design Standards (2006)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedThe new student edition of the definitive reference on urban planning and design Planning and Urban Design Standards, Student Edition is the authoritative and reliable volume designed to teach students best practices and guidelines for urban planning and design.
Author(s): American Planning Association, Frederick R. Steiner , et al.

Happy City: Transforming Our Lives Through Urban Design (2014)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedCharles Montgomery’s Happy City is revolutionizing the way we think about urban life. After decades of unchecked sprawl, more people than ever are moving back to the city. Dense urban living has been prescribed as a panacea for the environmental and resource crises of our time. But is it better or worse for our happiness?
Author(s): Charles Montgomery

Urban Planning For Dummies (2012)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedWith the majority of the world’s population shifting to urban centres, urban planning—the practice of land-use and transportation planning to help shape cities structurally, economically, and socially—has become an increasingly vital profession.
Author(s): Jordan Yin, W. Paul Farmer

Becoming an Urban Planner: A Guide to Careers in Planning and Urban Design (2010)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedBecoming an Urban Planner answers these key questions: What do urban planners do? What are the educational requirements? How do I enter the field? How do I choose between the different types of planning, from land use planning to policy planning? What is the future of the urban planning profession?
Author(s): Michael Bayer , Nancy Frank, et al.

Contemporary Urban Planning (2016)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedPlanning is a highly political activity. It is immersed in politics and inseparable from the law. Urban and regional planning decisions often involve large sums of money, both public and private, with the potential to deliver large benefits to some and losses to others.
Author(s): John M. Levy

Urban Analytics (Spatial Analytics and GIS) (2018)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedThe economic and political situation of cities has shifted in recent years in light of rapid growth amidst infrastructure decline, the suburbanization of poverty and inner city revitalization. At the same time, the way that data are used to understand urban systems has changed dramatically.  Urban Analytics offers a field-defining look at the challenges and opportunities of using new and emerging data to study contemporary and future cities through methods including GIS, Remote Sensing, Big Data…
Author(s): Alex David Singleton, Seth Spielman, et al.

The Well-Tempered City: What Modern Science, Ancient Civilizations, and Human Nature Teach Us About the Future of Urban Life (2017)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You Need2017 PROSE Award Winner: Outstanding Scholarly Work by a Trade PublisherIn the vein of Jane Jacobs’s The Death and Life of Great American Cities and Edward Glaeser’s Triumph of the City, Jonathan F. P.
Author(s): Jonathan F. P. Rose

Planning in the USA: Policies, Issues, and Processes (2008)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedThis extensively revised and expanded third edition of Planning in the USA continues to provide a comprehensive introduction to the policies, theory and practice of planning. Discussing land use, urban planning and environmental protection policies, this fully illustrated book explains the nature of the planning process and the way in which policy issues are identified, defined and approached.
Author(s): J. Barry Cullingworth, Roger Caves

Walkable City: How Downtown Can Save America, One Step at a Time (2013)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedA Best Book of the Year according to Planetizen and the American Society of Landscape Architects Jeff Speck has dedicated his career to determining what makes cities thrive. And he has boiled it down to one key factor: walkability. Making downtown into a walkable, viable community is the essential fix for thetypical American city; it is eminently achievable and its benefits are manifold.
Author(s): Jeff Speck

Streetfight: Handbook for an Urban Revolution (2017)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedAs New York City’s transportation commissioner, Janette Sadik-Khan managed the seemingly impossible and transformed the streets of one of the world’s greatest, toughest cities into dynamic spaces safe for pedestrians and bikers. Her approach was dramatic and effective: Simply painting a part of the street to make it into a plaza or bus lane not only made the street safer, but it also lessened congestion and increased foot traffic, which improved the bottom line of businesses.
Author(s): Janette Sadik-Khan, Seth Solomonow

The Oxford Handbook of Urban Planning (Oxford Handbooks) (2015)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedThe Oxford Handbook of Urban Planning is an authoritative volume on planning, a long-established professional social science discipline in the U.S. and throughout the world. Edited by Rachel Weber and Randall Crane, professors at two leading planning institutes in the United States, this handbook collects together over 45 noted field experts to discuss three key questions: Why plan? How and what do we plan? Who plans for whom?
Author(s): Rachel Weber, Randall Crane

Grounding Urban Natures: Histories and Futures of Urban Ecologies (Urban and Industrial Environments) (2019)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedThe global discourse around urban ecology tends to homogenize and universalize, relying on such terms as “smart cities,” “eco-cities,” and “resilience,” and proposing a “science of cities” based largely on information from the Global North. Grounding Urban Natures makes the case for the importance of place and time in understanding urban environments.
Author(s): Henrik Ernstson, Sverker Sörlin, et al.

The Works: Anatomy of a City (2007)

 Best Urban Planning Books That You NeedHave you ever wondered how the water in your faucet gets there? Where your garbage goes? What the pipes under city streets do? How bananas from Ecuador get to your local market? Why radiators in apartment buildings clang? Using New York City as its point of reference, The Works takes readers down manholes and behind the scenes to explain exactly how an urban infrastructure operates.
Author(s): Kate Ascher

Best Urban Planning Books That You Need

We highly recommend you to buy all paper or e-books in a legal way, for example, on Amazon. But sometimes it might be a need to dig deeper beyond the shiny book cover. Before making a purchase, you can visit resources like Library Genesis and download some urban planning books mentioned below at your own risk. Once again, we do not host any illegal or copyrighted files, but simply give our visitors a choice and hope they will make a wise decision.

Reviewing Design Process Theories: Discourses in Architecture, Urban Design and Planning Theories

Author(s): Mahmud Rezaei
ID: 2887535, Publisher: Springer International Publishing;Springer, Year: 2021, Size: 2 Mb, Format: pdf

Data Augmented Design: Embracing New Data for Sustainable Urban Planning and Design

Author(s): Ying Long, Enjia Zhang
ID: 2889779, Publisher: Springer International Publishing;Springer, Year: 2021, Size: 14 Mb, Format: pdf

Urban Playground: How Child-Friendly Planning and Design Can Save Cities

Author(s): Tim Gill
ID: 2941716, Publisher: RIBA Publishing, Year: 2021, Size: 23 Mb, Format: epub

Please note that this booklist is not errorless. Some books are really best-sellers according to Los Angeles Times, others are drafted by unknown writers. On top of that, you can always find additional tutorials and courses on Coursera, Udemy or edX, for example. Are there any other relevant books you could recommend? Leave a comment if you have any feedback on the list.

Rate article
Add a comment

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: