📚 Book Lovin' Geek Mamas are on a mission to promote a love of books and reading to everyone. We help our visitors to find their next favorite book. Our authors regularly create and post so-called listicles (also known as booklists) on various mostly tech-related topics.

Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your Bookshelf

There are countless Military Fiction courses, tutorials, articles available online, but for some, having a book is still a necessity to learn. This is an up-to-date list of recommended books.

The Things They Carried (2009)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfA classic work of American literature that has not stopped changing minds and lives since it burst onto the literary scene, The Things They Carried is a ground-breaking meditation on war, memory, imagination, and the redemptive power of storytelling.   The Things They Carried depicts the men of Alpha Company: Jimmy Cross, Henry Dobbins, Rat Kiley, Mitchell Sanders, Norman Bowker, Kiowa, and the character Tim O’Brien, who has survived his tour in Vietnam to become a Author(s): Tim O’Brien

The War Planners Series: Books 1-3: The War Planners, The War Stage, and Pawns of the Pacific (2017)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfFrom former US Navy pilot Andrew Watts comes a series made for fans of Tom Clancy and Vince Flynn. Now a USA Today Bestseller.”As a huge fan of Tom Clancy, this was close.””Frighteningly real.”From a secretive jungle-covered island in the Pacific, to the sands of the Middle East. From the smog-filled alleyways of China, to the passageways of a US Navy destroyer.
Author(s): Andrew Watts

Breakthrough (2013)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfONE OF THE GREATEST BREAKTHROUGHS IN HUMAN HISTORY.A SECRET THAT WAS NEVER SUPPOSED TO BE FOUND.AND A CRISIS THAT CANNOT BE STOPPED.Deep in the Caribbean Sea, a nuclear submarine is forced to suddenly abort its mission under mysterious circumstances.
Author(s): Michael C. Grumley

Eyes of the Hammer (The Green Berets) (Volume 1) (2012)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your Bookshelf"Exciting and authentic! Author Mayer, a Green Beret himself, gave me a vivid look at the world of the Army's Special Forces. His portrayal of Green Beret operations and techniques takes you deep into the world of Special Operations." W.E.B. Griffin.
Author(s): Bob Mayer

Edge of Valor: Valor Book One (2019)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfWhen their mission fails, his begins.Special Agent Jackson Fischer is a man after truth. When a military operation to extract a high-ranking ambassador from the war-torn, border-world of Stonemeyer ends in disaster, Fischer is called in to investigate.   A whole platoon went in, but only three Alliance Marines returned home, the rest killed in action along with hundreds of civilians.
Author(s): Josh Hayes

Bad Luck and Trouble (Jack Reacher) (2009)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfFrom a helicopter high above the empty California desert, a man is sent free-falling into the night…. In Chicago, a woman learns that an elite team of ex–army investigators is being hunted down one by one. And on the streets of Portland, Jack Reacher—soldier, cop, hero—is pulled out of his wandering life by a code that few other people could understand.
Author(s): Lee Child

Donovan’s War: A Military Thriller (A Tommy Donovan Novel) (2018)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfResigned to never finding peace from the war long behind him, retired warrior, Thomas Donovan, is now faced with an even deadlier conflict one that could cost him the last of his humanity. Once a member of an elite underground unit, the only wars Thomas knows now are the ones that rage inside him. All he wants is to stay under the radar of existence, trying to forget the past and isolating himself from the present.
Author(s): W.J. Lundy

Gone to Sea in a Bucket (A Harry Gilmour Novel) (2015)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfLike all young men of a certain age, Harry Gilmour had his own notion of how a naval battle should be. This wasn’t it.Norway, 1940: Sub Lieutenant Harry Gilmour’s first encounter with battleship action is not the adventure he had hoped for. Faced with a thankless task and ill equipped to handle it, Gilmour’s inexperience leads to a damning allegation.
Author(s): David Black

The Good Knight (The Gareth & Gwen Medieval Mysteries) (2011)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfJoin Gareth & Gwen in their first mystery together murder, intrigue, and romance in medieval Wales! Five years after Gareth walked away from Gwen in disgrace, she encounters him in the aftermath of an ambush, standing over the body of a murdered king.
Author(s): Sarah Woodbury

Ruins of the Galaxy: A Military Scifi Epic (2019)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfThe mission is simple. Escort an emissary to an intergalactic peace summit. Try not to get in the way. Lt. Magnus and his 79th Recon Team have certainly handled worse, after all. But when an explosion rocks the tower and sends everyone into a panic, Magnus and his asset find themselves cut off from the rest of the team.Worse still, a dying alien chieftain gives them a priceless drive of intel, marking them for death.The mission has officially changed.
Author(s): J.N. Chaney, Christopher Hopper

Flight of the Reaper: An Intergalactic Space Opera Adventure (The Last Reaper) (2019)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfThe fight has just begun.When Halek Cain and his wildly talented crew of runaways, rogue scientists, and rebel commandos arrive in system to save a ship of political refugees, they quickly realize things are not as they seem. The system is full of derelict ships from ancient battles. It’s a gold mine of history, resources, and old technology.But where did these ships come from?
Author(s): J.N. Chaney, Scott Moon

White Rose, Black Forest (2018)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfDecember 1943. In the years before the rise of Hitler, the Gerber family’s summer cottage was filled with laughter. Now, as deep drifts of snow blanket the Black Forest, German dissenter Franka Gerber is alone and hopeless. Fervor and brutality have swept through her homeland, taking away both her father and her brother and leaving her with no reason to live.That is, until she discovers an unconscious airman lying in the snow wearing a Luftwaffe uniform, his parachute flapping in the wind.
Author(s): Eoin Dempsey

Superdreadnought 1: A Military AI Space Opera (2018)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfAlone and unafraid. Sometimes you prevent war by hunting down your enemies.Integrated with a superdreadnought, the artificial intelligence known as Reynolds takes his ship across the universe in search of the elusive Kurtherians. He comes to a revelation. He’s better in the company of living creatures.He needs a crew. He needs information. And he needs to continue his search and destroy mission.Needing a crew and getting a crew are two completely different things.
Author(s): CH Gideon, Tim Marquitz , et al.

No Better Friend: Young Readers Edition: A Man, a Dog, and Their Incredible True Story of Friendship and Survival in World War II (2018)

 Best Military Fiction Books That Should Be On Your BookshelfNo Better Friend tells the incredible true story of Frank Williams, a radarman in Britain’s Royal Air Force, and Judy, a purebred pointer, who met as prisoners of war during World War II. Judy, who became the war’s only official canine POW, was a fiercely loyal dog who sensed danger–warning her fellow prisoners of imminent attacks and protecting them from brutal beatings.
Author(s): Robert Weintraub

Best Military Fiction Books that Should be on Your Bookshelf

We highly recommend you to buy all paper or e-books in a legal way, for example, on Amazon. But sometimes it might be a need to dig deeper beyond the shiny book cover. Before making a purchase, you can visit resources like Library Genesis and download some military fiction books mentioned below at your own risk. Once again, we do not host any illegal or copyrighted files, but simply give our visitors a choice and hope they will make a wise decision.

The Military Uses of Literature: Fiction and the Armed Forces in the Soviet Union

Author(s): Mark T. Hooker
ID: 585497, Publisher: , Year: 1996, Size: 13 Mb, Format: pdf

Please note that this booklist is not definite. Some books are absolutely chart-busters according to Washington Post, others are drafted by unknown authors. On top of that, you can always find additional tutorials and courses on Coursera, Udemy or edX, for example. Are there any other relevant links you could recommend? Drop a comment if you have any feedback on the list.

Rate article
Add a comment

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: