📚 Book Lovin' Geek Mamas are on a mission to promote a love of books and reading to everyone. We help our visitors to find their next favorite book. Our authors regularly create and post so-called listicles (also known as booklists) on various mostly tech-related topics.

Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should Read

There are countless Fiction Mystery courses, tutorials, articles available online, but for some, having a book is still a necessity to learn. This is an up-to-date list of recommended books.

Then She Was Gone: A Novel (2018)

 Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should ReadEllie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her. And then she was gone. Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together.
Author(s): Lisa Jewell

Ghost in the Machine (Detective Scott Cullen Mysteries) (2012)

 Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should Read‘Classic Scottish noir: bad food, bad moods, too much booze and tight plots’ @ey0k1, TwitterFor fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart McBride and Christopher Brookmyre, Ghost in the Machine is the novel that introduced readers to ambitious maverick Detective Constable Scott Cullen, whose series has set the bestseller charts alight.With a messy divorce behind her, Caroline Adamson’s future is finally looking up.
Author(s): Ed James

And Then She Was GONE: A riveting new suspense novel (2016)

 Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should ReadThe silhouette stood at the edge of the woods like a spider watching a fly enter its carefully crafted web. Only a few more steps and she’d be within its grasp.Stacy Shaw has her whole life ahead of her. New job, new house and now a baby on the way—everything she’s ever hoped for is finally coming true. But on a warm summer night on the way home from work, she vanishes. The police race to find her, but the clues don’t add up.
Author(s): Christopher Greyson

One Night in Tehran: A Titus Ray Thriller (2014)

 Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should ReadMeanwhile, an assassin is searching for him. Veteran CIA officer Titus Ray–on the run from the Iranian secret police–finds shelter with a group of Iranian Christians in Tehran. While urging Titus to become a believer in Jesus Christ, they manage to smuggle him out of Iran to freedom in Turkey. Returning to the States, he discovers his Iranian mission failed because of political infighting within the Agency.
Author(s): Luana Ehrlich

The House of Closed Doors (2014)

 Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should ReadIn Nell Lillington's small Midwestern town of the 1870s, marriage is the obvious fate of a young woman of some social standing. Yet Nell is determined to elude the duties and restrictions of matrimony. So when she finds herself pregnant at the age of 17, she refuses to divulge the name of the father and even her childhood friend Martin is kept in the dark.
Author(s): Jane Steen

The Dancing Girls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with nail-biting suspense (Detective Jo Fournier) (2019)

 Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should Read‘ … I took it everywhere I went… … … ’ Goodreads Reviewer, When loving wife Jeanine Hammond is found dead in a small leafy town in Massachusetts, newly promoted is shocked to her core. Why leave her body posed like a ballerina? Why steal her wedding band and nothing else? Hungry for answers, Jo questions Jeanine’s husband, but the heart-breaking pain written on his face threatens to tear open Jo’s old wounds.
Author(s): M.M. Chouinard

Convenient Lies (Hidden Truth) (2016)

 Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should ReadWhat happens when a woman marries her greatest enemy?When investigative journalist Reagan McAdams discovers her new husband Julien is part of a powerful international crime family, she flees Paris with their newborn, returning to her childhood home in Nutfield, New Hampshire.
Author(s): Robin Patchen

The Murder at Sissingham Hall (An Angela Marchmont Mystery) (2016)

 Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should ReadOn his return from South Africa, Charles Knox is invited to spend the weekend at the country home of Sir Neville Strickland, whose beautiful wife Rosamund was once Knox’s fiancée. But in the dead of night Sir Neville is murdered. Who did it?
Author(s): Clara Benson

Making a Medium: A Lost Souls Lane Mystery (2019)

 Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should ReadMy name is Zoe Lane, and I see dead people.Well, I see one dead person. Willie MacIntosh, a ninety-something-year-old multi-millionaire, who looks thirty, has a demanding personality, a strong opinion on my wardrobe and my love life, and he wants to know how he died.The problem is, there were a lot of people who wanted Willie MacIntosh dead, and it's my job to figure out who the killer is. At least, I think it's my job. This whole medium gig is new to me.
Author(s): Erin Huss

Sign Off (Caught Dead In Wyoming, Book 1) (2015)

 Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should ReadTV journalist Elizabeth “E.M.” Danniher will tell you she committed two sins — she didn’t stay young, and she made an enemy of a powerful news executive — her ex. She used to break national news. Now her top story as the “Helping Out!” reporter at dinky KWMT-TV in Sherman, Wyoming is getting a defective toaster repaired.Tough, funny and determined, Elizabeth wrestles with isolation, keeping a professional edge, and an evolving self-image.
Author(s): Patricia McLinn

Best Fiction Mystery Books Everyone Should Read

We highly recommend you to buy all paper or e-books in a legal way, for example, on Amazon. But sometimes it might be a need to dig deeper beyond the shiny book cover. Before making a purchase, you can visit resources like Library Genesis and download some fiction mystery books mentioned below at your own risk. Once again, we do not host any illegal or copyrighted files, but simply give our visitors a choice and hope they will make a wise decision.

Detective Fiction and the Problem of Knowledge: Perspectives on the Metacognitive Mystery Tale

Author(s): Antoine Dechêne
ID: 2311186, Publisher: Springer International Publishing;Palgrave Macmillan, Year: 2018, Size: 3 Mb, Format: pdf

The Hunt for FOXP5: A Genomic Mystery Novel

Author(s): Wallace Kaufman, David Deamer
ID: 1532935, Publisher: Springer International Publishing, Year: 2016, Size: 3 Mb, Format: pdf

James Ellroy: a Companion to the Mystery Fiction

Author(s): Ellroy, James;Mancall, James N
ID: 2673506, Publisher: McFarland & Co, Year: 2014;2013, Size: 3 Mb, Format: epub

Please note that this booklist is not final. Some books are absolutely best-sellers according to The Wall Street Journal, others are composed by unknown authors. On top of that, you can always find additional tutorials and courses on Coursera, Udemy or edX, for example. Are there any other relevant links you could recommend? Drop a comment if you have any feedback on the list.

Rate article
Add a comment

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: