📚 Book Lovin' Geek Mamas are on a mission to promote a love of books and reading to everyone. We help our visitors to find their next favorite book. Our authors regularly create and post so-called listicles (also known as booklists) on various mostly tech-related topics.

Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your Attention

Below I’ll give you my selections for the best Erik Larson books by a few categories. I will cover these and other great books more in depth later.

In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin (2012)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your AttentionThe time is 1933, the place, Berlin, when William E. Dodd becomes America’s first ambassador to Hitler’s Nazi Germany in a year that proved to be a turning point in history.A mild-mannered professor from Chicago, Dodd brings along his wife, son, and flamboyant daughter, Martha.
Author(s): Erik Larson

The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair That Changed America (2004)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your AttentionErik Larson—author of #1 bestseller In the Garden of Beasts—intertwines the true tale of the 1893 World’s Fair and the cunning serial killer who used the fair to lure his victims to their death. Combining meticulous research with nail-biting storytelling, Erik Larson has crafted a narrative with all the wonder of newly discovered history and the thrills of the best fiction.
Author(s): Erik Larson

Isaac’s Storm: A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History (2000)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your AttentionSeptember 8, 1900, began innocently in the seaside town of Galveston, Texas. Even Isaac Cline, resident meteorologist for the U.S. Weather Bureau failed to grasp the true meaning of the strange deep-sea swells and peculiar winds that greeted the city that morning.
Author(s): Erik Larson

Thunderstruck (2007)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your AttentionIn Thunderstruck, Erik Larson tells the interwoven stories of two men—Hawley Crippen, a very unlikely murderer, and Guglielmo Marconi, the obsessive creator of a seemingly supernatural means of communication—whose lives intersect during one of the greatest criminal chases of all time.Set in Edwardian London and on the stormy coasts of Cornwall, Cape Cod, and Nova Scotia, Thunderstruck evokes the dynamism of those years when great shipping companies competed to Author(s): Erik Larson

Indianapolis: The True Story of the Worst Sea Disaster in U.S. Naval History and the Fifty-Year Fight to Exonerate an Innocent Man (2019)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your AttentionJust after midnight on July 30, 1945, the USS Indianapolis is sailing alone in the Philippine Sea when she is sunk by two Japanese torpedoes. For the next five nights and four days, almost three hundred miles from the nearest land, nearly nine hundred men battle injuries, sharks, dehydration, insanity, and eventually each other. Only 316 will survive.
Author(s): Lynn Vincent, Sara Vladic

The Last Days of Night: A Novel (2017)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your Attention“A world of invention and skulduggery, populated by the likes of Edison, Westinghouse, and Tesla.”—Erik Larson     From Graham Moore, the Oscar-winning screenwriter of The Imitation Game and New York Times bestselling author of The Sherlockian, comes a thrilling novel—based on actual events—about the nature of genius, the cost of ambition, and the battle to electrify America.New York, 1888.
Author(s): Graham Moore

The Lost City of the Monkey God: A True Story (2017)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your Attentionp.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 11.0px Times} p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px ‘Times New Roman’} Since the days of conquistador Hernán Cortés, rumors have circulated about a lost city of immense wealth hidden somewhere in the Honduran interior, called the White City or the Lost City of the Monkey God. Indigenous tribes speak of ancestors who fled there to escape the Spanish invaders, and they warn that anyone who enters this sacred city will fall ill and die.
Author(s): Douglas Preston

All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel (2017)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your AttentionFrom the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the stunningly beautiful instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II. Marie-Laure lives in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where her father works.
Author(s): Anthony Doerr

Lethal Passage: The Story of a Gun (1995)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your AttentionThis devastating book illuminates America’s gun culture — its manufacturers, dealers, buffs, and propagandists — but also offers concrete solutions to our national epidemic of death by firearm.
Author(s): Erik Larson

The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz (2020)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your AttentionOn Winston Churchill’s first day as prime minister, Hitler invaded Holland and Belgium. Poland and Czechoslovakia had already fallen, and the Dunkirk evacuation was just two weeks away. For the next twelve months, Hitler would wage a relentless bombing campaign, killing over 30,000 Britons and destroying 2 million homes.
Author(s): Erik Larson

Empty Mansions: The Mysterious Life of Huguette Clark and the Spending of a Great American Fortune (2014)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your AttentionUPDATED TEXT WITH RESULTS OF THE CLARK ESTATE SETTLEMENT  When Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Bill Dedman noticed in 2009 a grand home for sale, unoccupied for nearly sixty years, he stumbled through a surprising portal into American history.
Author(s): Bill Dedman, Newell Jr., Paul Clark

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (2014)

 Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your AttentionFor readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start.
Author(s): Daniel James Brown

Best Erik Larson Books Worth Your Attention

We highly recommend you to buy all paper or e-books in a legal way, for example, on Amazon. But sometimes it might be a need to dig deeper beyond the shiny book cover. Before making a purchase, you can visit resources like Library Genesis and download some erik larson books mentioned below at your own risk. Once again, we do not host any illegal or copyrighted files, but simply give our visitors a choice and hope they will make a wise decision.

The Myth of Artificial Intelligence: Why Computers Can’t Think the Way We Do

Author(s): Erik J. Larson
ID: 2954486, Publisher: Belknap Press: An Imprint of Harvard University Press, Year: 2021, Size: 12 Mb, Format: pdf

The Myth Of Artificial Intelligence: Why Computers Can’t Think The Way We Do

Author(s): Erik J. Larson
ID: 2955528, Publisher: Belknap Press/Harvard University Press, Year: 2021, Size: 2 Mb, Format: pdf

Conical Intersections in Physics. An Introduction to Synthetic Gauge Theories

Author(s): Jonas Larson, Erik Sjöqvist, Patrik Öhberg
ID: 2465322, Publisher: Springer, Year: 2020, Size: 5 Mb, Format: pdf

Please note that this booklist is not errorless. Some books are really chart-busters according to Washington Post, others are drafted by unknown writers. On top of that, you can always find additional tutorials and courses on Coursera, Udemy or edX, for example. Are there any other relevant books you could recommend? Leave a comment if you have any feedback on the list.

Rate article
Add a comment

;-) :| :x :twisted: :smile: :shock: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :lol: :idea: :grin: :evil: :cry: :cool: :arrow: :???: :?: :!: